Pomegranate Black Bean Salsa

by elleryturner

I prefer to liken my foray into blogging to cooking with pomegranate.  It’s something I’ve never done before, it seems a little scary.  But it also seems really cool.  So I thought I’d give them both a try…and why not at the same time?

Since the purpose of this blog is mainly to inform my readers (total current count: 0, but I have faith!) of the many ways you can eat heathily and relatively conveniently while on a budget, starting with a pomegranate seems weird.  They’re super healthy – chock full of antioxidants – but super expensive.  We’re talking close to $4 a pop.  However, they apparently go on sale frequently (check the part of the produce section with all of the other fruits you would never buy – starfruit and whatnot), and just one pomegranate harvests enough seeds for several recipes.  I was pleasantly surprised when they were recently on sale at my local Harris Teeter for 2 for $6. 

Ready for your first tip?  On most of the 2-for sales, you don’t have to buy 2!  Just one will often times ring at half-price, and this little detail is usually listed in the specials section of your grocery store’s website.  Not listed or you’re not sure?  Ask the guy re-stocking baby carrots (it might just be me, but I feel like there’s always a guy re-stocking the baby carrots), and he can check for you.

So I got my pomegranate home and it sat on the counter for a couple of days.  My roommate, Merritt, thought it was a bad apple and tried to throw it away (more on her later, she’s still learning).  Then it sat on the counter for a couple more days.  When I finally took a literal crack at it, I was embarrassed that I let it intimidate me so.

Step one:  Cut it in half with a bowl of water handy.

Step two: Pull out pulp and seeds (the edible part of the pom) into the water. Sift through the seeds and the pulp will float to the top, the seeds will sink to the bottom.

Step 3: Skim the pulp from the top of the bowl with a slotted spoon.  Strain the seeds.

Step 4: Stand back and admire how easy that was…then wonder what the hell you make with pomegranate.

The answer: My pomegranate and black bean salsa

Ingredients:

  • One half pomegranate (seeded)
  • Half a 15oz can of black beans (rinsed)
  • 1/4 cup diced red onion
  • Handful of cilantro
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Splash of olive oil
  • Pinch o’ salt and sprinkle o’ pepper

Combine ingredients, let sit for as long as you can stand it, eat it!

The best part?  It’s red and green.  So it totally passes as a festive appetizer for all those holiday parties.  Easy on the waistline, easy on the wallet, and easy on the eyes.

